1. Home
  2. FAQs & Troubleshooting
  3. Setup & Preferences
  4. How do I choose my privacy settings?

How do I choose my privacy settings?

Privacy settings in your Dashboard allow you to control how much information Mailbutler stores about your emails.

These privacy settings affect how information is stored when you are tracking an email, viewing Tracking Details, snoozing a message, using email scheduling or when you create a Task or Note.

Note

Kindly note that the privacy option you select will affect how your real-time notifications will look like.

Update privacy settings in Dashboard

1. Go to Dashboard -> Account Settings -> Preferences.

2. Click on the Privacy tab.

3. Customize your privacy settings and choose what information you want Mailbutler to store about your emails.

Note

Please note that irrespective of which privacy option you choose, your data still remains your data. We never read, analyze or store your message’s content or attachments!

On the right-hand side of the screen you should see a preview of how an opening notification with the chosen setting would look like.

  • If you allow Mailbutler to store the subject, recipient names, and email addresses of your email, you’ll receive a notification like this:An preview of the aforementioned privacy setting.
  • Allowing Mailbutler to store the subject and recipient email addresses of your email, will give you notification like the following:An preview of the aforementioned privacy setting.
  • If you allow Mailbutler access to subject and masked email addresses of your email, you’ll receive a notification like this:An preview of the aforementioned privacy setting.
  • Choosing to allow Mailbutler to store only the subject of your email, will give you a notification similar to this:An preview of the aforementioned privacy setting.
  • If you allow Mailbutler to store nothing, your notifications look like this:
    An preview of the aforementioned privacy setting.

Clear all existing information

If you opted to display only Subject and Recipient email address or less, and you have previously selected to display all information, you have the option to erase existing information.

To clear existing information about your emails, check the box to ‘Clear all existing information’ below the listed privacy settings, and click Save. (This action cannot be reverted.)

Updated on 15 February, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles