1. Home
  2. Using Mailbutler
  3. Mailbutler for Teams
  4. How do I share Notes with my team?
  1. Home
  2. Using Mailbutler
  3. Inbox Features
  4. Notes
  5. How do I share Notes with my team?

How do I share Notes with my team?

Team Notes are perfect for sales teams to keep up with lead status, customer support team that needs to mark internal notes of tickets — and any teams that want to improve internal communication.

Note: Shared Notes is an extended functionality of Notes made for team users.

Sharing Notes in Apple Mail

1. Open Apple Mail.

2. Go to an email that already has a Note attached (skip to step 6); or create a new one (following steps 3-5).

3. Click on the Sidebar button to reveal it, and to create a new Note.

4. Enter the details and click anywhere to save it.

5. You can also delete the note by clicking on the three dots on the right-side of the box, then clicking Delete.

6. Locate the sharing button on the right-side of the box and and pick the team you want to share the note with.

7. You can now select the team with which to share the note. You can also manage you teams via the Manage Teams button.

Share and manage Notes from your Apple Mail Companion App

Apple Mail users can share existing Notes or manage them from the macOS menu bar companion app.

Locate your Mailbutler menu bar app and click on Notes.
Shared Notes are clearly marked with the team’s icon on the left:

  • On the right side you will find the sharing icon, to pick the team you want to share the Note with.
  • Quickly access the corresponding email of your shared Notes with the envelope icon.
  • Delete a shared Note you created by clicking on the three dots, then Delete.

Sharing Notes in Gmail

1. Open Gmail.

2. Go to an email that already has a Note attached (skip to step 6); or create a new one (following steps 3-5).

3. Click on the Sidebar button to reveal it, and to create a new Note.

4. Enter the details of your note, then click outside the box to save it.

5. You can also delete the task by clicking on the three dots on the right-side of the box, then clicking Delete Note.

6. Locate the sharing button on the right-side of the box and and pick the team you want to share the note with.

7. You can manage your team or add another one by clicking on Manage Teams.

Sharing Notes in Oulook

1. Open Gmail.

2. Go to an email that already has a Note attached (skip to step 6); or create a new one (following steps 3-5).

3. Click on the Sidebar button to reveal it, and to create a new Note.

4. Enter the details of your note, then click outside the box to save it.

5. You can also delete the task by clicking on the three dots on the right-side of the box, then clicking Delete Note.

6. Locate the sharing button on the right-side of the box and and pick the team you want to share the note with.

7. You can manage your team or add another one by clicking on Manage Teams.

Sharing Notes on Mobile

Option 1: Look for Notes of a specific email in the Emails tab.

1. Open your Mailbutler mobile app.

2. Go to Emails and find the email that has the Note you want to share.

3. Click on the Note icon. You will then find all the Notes and Tasks attached to this Email.

Find Notes to share with a Team

4. Find the Note you want to share.

5. Click on Manage Teams and choose a team you want to share that Note with.

Option 2: Look for a specific Note in the Notes tab.

1. Open your Mailbutler mobile app.

2. Go to Notes and find a Note you want to share.

3. Click on Manage Teams and choose a team you want to share that Note with.

Choose a Team to share a Note with in the Notes tab

Share and manage Notes in the Mobile App

In the Mobile App, a list of all the Notes is provided, which you can easily manage. Filter the list of Notes you want to see by clicking on the filter button on the top right.

  • Choose a team you want to share a specific note with by clicking on the Teams icon.
  • By clicking on the envelope icon, you will see more information and you can also add a Follow-Up Reminder or another Note / Task.
  • If you want to delete the note then all you need to do is swipe the Note to the left.

You can find a collection of all your shared Notes in two locations:

  • Your Mailbutler companion app (available only for Apple Mail users)
  • Your Mailbutler Dashboard

If you are the owner of the shared Note, you have the permission to make changes, delete or revoke sharing access of your Note anytime.

Manage Team Notes in your Dashboard

You can manage your Team Notes from your Dashboard.

  1. Login to your Mailbutler Dashboard and go to Notes.
  2. Click the filter button:
Use the filter button to select between different types of notes for viewing
  • Filter the type of Notes you would like to view, such as privacy and shared teams / organizations:
Shared Notes on Mailbutler Dashboard
  • For quick accessing a Note created on Gmail, click on the Gmail icon. Click on the envelope icon for quick access to Notes created on Apple Mail:
Manage shared notes on Mailbutler Dashboard
  • To delete a note you have created, click on the delete icon:
Manage shared notes on Mailbutler Dashboard

Syncing Shared Notes with other apps

If you want to have your Shared Notes in your note-taking apps, Mailbutler allows you to share them across other productivity platforms. Shared Notes can be synced with 3rd party apps such as Evernote and OneNote.

Find out more about Mailbutler for Teams and other collaboration features available.

Updated on 5 February, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles